ealth Department of the Deputy Commissioner’s Office is responsible for maintaining health in the rural areas of Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT). There are twelve (12) Basic Health Units (BHU), three (3) Rural Health Centers (RHC) and two (2) Laboratories (Labs) working under the Health Department. There is a Main Drug Store which is located in the vicinity of District Health Officer’s (DHO) office of the Health Department, an attached department of the Deputy Commissioner’s Office.
Provision of curative and preventive health services to the rural population of ICT: 
The first level health services are being delivered through 03 Rural Health Centers and 14 Basic Health Units. The services include immunization, antenatal care, and health education, treatment of general ailments and provision of essential medicines. During the year 2009, 30,000 patients have reported to these facilities. It is calculated that on an average, each patient was provided the medicines costing only Rs.11/- per visit.