The Islamabad Capital Territory Administration (ICTA) is the administration of the Capital City of Pakistan. Islamabad Capital Territory is a distinct constituent unit of the Federation of Pakistan under the Article 1(2)b of the Constitution of Pakistan. It is represented in the National Assembly by two constituencies, namely NA-48 and NA-49.
Islamabad is situated between the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab but Islamabad is not a part of any province. The land was acquired from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab in 1960, for the purpose of establishing Pakistan's new capital. ICT was separated from Rawalpindi district of The Punjab in 1980. ICT is now subdivided into five zones.
Islamabad nestles against the backdrop of the Margalla Hills at the northern end of Potohar Plateau. Its climate is healthy, pollution free, plentiful in water resources and lush green. It is a modern and carefully planned city with wide roads and avenues, many public buildings and well-organised commercial centres. 
Islamabad is administratively divided into two segments, namely Islamabad Urban and Islamabad Rural. The rural area is further divided into twelve union councils, comprising some 133 villages.